The Minstry of bikes presents

Marquez is crowned Moto GP champ

Article By Ministry of Bikes

Posted on 17 Oct 2016

Marquez crowned MOTO GP champ

Marc Marquez (part of Repsol Honda team) has taken the 2016 Moto GP crown. Not only is this his third premier class title in a period of four years, but his fifth triumph of 2016. It was a tough race for teammates Valentino Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo as they both took an unexpected early crash.

Marquez carried the race at Turn 1 with Lorenzo catching up and Rossi passing Marquez at Turn 2, which resulted in the two continually switching positions at the beginning.

With Eugene Laverty already out the race early on, Rossi’s crash followed closely behind after losing control of the front end of his bike, leaving Lorenzo competing against Marquez for the title.

The race saw Andrea Dovizioso and Cal Crutchlow fighting to get ahead of Lorenzo, until an unexpected fault from Lorenzo saw him follow Rossi’s crash making Marquez the new champion and Andrea Dovizioso following in second place.

Moto GP World Standing 2016

1Marc MARQUEZ273
2Valentino ROSSI196
3Jorge LORENZO182
4Maverick Viñales165
5Dani PEDROSA155
6Andrea DOVIZIOSO124
9Andrea IANNONE96
10Hector BARBERA84
12Eugene LAVERTY71
13Alvaro BAUTISTA63
14Scott REDDING62
15Danilo PETRUCCI58
16Stefan BRADL55
17Bradley SMITH45
18Jack MILLER42
19Michele PIRRO36
20Tito RABAT29
21Loris BAZ24
23Katsuyuki NAKASUGA5
24Alex LOWES3
25Hiroshi AOYAMA1
26Nicky HAYDEN1
27Mike JONES